Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lecturers

Ruggero Bellio

E-mail:
ruggero.bellio@uniud.it
Courses:
Statistical Methods for Data Science
Affiliation:

Ruggero Bellio Is Associate Professor of Statistics at the Department Of Economics and Statistics of the University Of Udine. He received the PhD In Statistics from the University of Padova in 2000.  His research interests are likelihood methods, mixed models and their applications in various fields, statistical computing, data mining. He is very keen on the R statistical software
He is currently Co-Editor of the journal Statistical Methods and Applications  and he has served as referee for many statistical journals.

Luca Bortolussi

E-mail:
lbortolussi@units.it
Courses:
Statistical Machine Learning, Stochastic Modelling and Simulation
Affiliation:

Since November 2015, I am Associate Professor of Computer Science at the Department of Mathematics and Geosciences of the University of Trieste, Italy.  From June 2014 to May 2015, I have been guest professor of Modelling and Simulation at the department of Computer Science of the University of Saarland in Saarbruecken, Germany.  Before that, I was  assistant professor (Ricercatore) of Computer Science at the Department of Mathematics and Geosciences of the University of Trieste, Italy. I graduated in Mathematics at the University of Trieste in 2003 and got a PhD in Computer Science form the University of Udine in 2007. 

Alberto Casagrande

E-mail:
acasagrande@units.it
Courses:
Advanced Programming and Algorithmic Design
Affiliation:
Website:

Lorenzo Castelli

E-mail:
castelli@units.it
Courses:
Optimisation Models
Affiliation:

Lorenzo is assistant professor in Operations Research at University of Trieste, where he obtained his Ph.D. in Transportation. Lorenzo’s research has mainly focused on the development of mathematical programming models and algorithms to optimise and manage the European air transport system, both at the strategic and tactical level.This research activity has been carried out through national and international projects funded by the European Union (6th and 7th Framework Program), EUROCONTROL, the SESAR Joint Undertaking, ENAV (the Italian air navigation service provider) and MIUR (the Italian Ministry of Education, University and Research), and developed in collaboration with several European academic partners and stakeholders.

Stefano Cozzini

E-mail:
stefano.cozzini@sissa.it
Courses:
Foundations of High Performance Computing
Affiliation:

Gianfranco Fenu

E-mail:
fenu@units.it
Courses:
Dynamic systems
Affiliation:
Website:

Massimo Franceschet

E-mail:
massimo.franceschet@uniud.it
Courses:
Data Management for Big Data, Network Science
Affiliation:

I have a Master's Degree and a PhD in Computer Science both at the University of Udine. I did a post-doc at the University of Amsterdam. I worked as Assistant Professor at the University G. D'Annunzio of Chieti and Pescara, and then I moved to the University of Udine. Since December 2016 I am Associate Professor of Computer Science at the University of Udine. I am interested in data and network science, bibliometrics and generative art. A long time ago I was fond of logic and even before of temporal knowledge. I approached theater, contemporary dance, dance-theater, cinema and contemporary circus. 

Ivan Girotto

E-mail:
igirotto@ictp.it
Courses:
Foundations of High Performance Computing
Affiliation:

Ivan Girotto is appointed at the Abdus Salam, International Centre for Theoretical Physics as High-Performance Computing (HPC) Application Specialist. With more than ten years of experience Ivan Girotto has previously served, as computational scientist, at national supercomputing centres such as CINECA, and later at the Irish Centre for High-End Computing (ICHEC). Today at ICTP, Ivan is co-director and lecturer in number of international workshops and advanced schools as well as in other programs for education and training on parallel programming for scientific computing and HPC (i.e., the joint SISSA/ICTP Master program in HPC). His main activity at the ICTP remains to conduit and support the world-wide community to efficient research production on platforms for high-performance computing. Ivan Girotto is also one of the Principal Investigators of the Europen Centre of Excellence MaX - Materials design at the Exascale.

Luca Heltai

E-mail:
luca.heltai@sissa.it
Courses:
Numerical Analysis
Affiliation:

Stefano Maset

E-mail:
maset@univ.trieste.it
Courses:
Advanced Numerical Analysis
Affiliation:

Eric Medvet

E-mail:
Courses:
Machine Learning and Data Analytics
Affiliation:

Eric Medvet received the degree in Electronic Engineering in 2004 and the PhD degree in Computer Engineering in 2008, both from the University of Trieste, Italy. He is currently an Assistant Professor in Computer Engineering at the Department of Engineering and Architecture of University of Trieste, where he was formerly the dean of the Computer Engineering master program. He is the head of the Machine Learning Lab, which works together with industries to apply ML techniques to many domains such as, e.g., misuse detection in web applications, predictive maintainance of engines, proactive customer care. His research interests include Genetic Programming and Machine Learning applications, on which he authored 65+ scientific papers.

Stefano Mizzaro

E-mail:
mizzaro@uniud.it
Courses:
Information Retrieval
Affiliation:

Marco Molinaro

E-mail:
marco.molinaro@inaf.it
Courses:
Open Data Management and the Cloud
Affiliation:

Paolo Novati

E-mail:
novati@units.it
Courses:
Advanced Numerical Analysis
Affiliation:

Thomas Parisini

E-mail:
t.parisini@gmail.com
Courses:
Dynamic systems
Affiliation:
Website:

Francesco Pauli

E-mail:
FRANCESCO.PAULI@deams.units.it
Courses:
Bayesian Statistics
Affiliation:
Website:

Felice Andrea Pellegrino

E-mail:
fapellegrino@units.it
Courses:
Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition
Affiliation:
Website:

Gianluigi Rozza

E-mail:
gianluigi.rozza@sissa.it
Courses:
Numerical Analysis
Affiliation:

Alberto Sartori

E-mail:
asartori@sissa.it
Courses:
Advanced Programming and Algorithmic Design
Affiliation:

Nicola Torelli

E-mail:
NICOLA.TORELLI@deams.units.it
Courses:
Statistical Methods for Data Science
Affiliation:

Luca Tornatore

E-mail:
tornatore@oats.inaf.it
Courses:
Foundations of High Performance Computing
Affiliation:

Matilde Trevisani

E-mail:
MATILDE.TREVISANI@deams.units.it
Courses:
Machine Learning and Data Analytics
Affiliation: